My Favorite Things- January 2014

Link

Sorry that it’s been awhile, but this post took longer to compile than my usual ones, and I wanted to do it justice.  All my posts so far have been pretty serious, so I thought it was time to do a FUN one! Here each month I plan to share some of my current ‘favorite things’.  Being the extrovert that I am, I love to share what is currently making me happy/ think/ laugh, etc. Half the enjoyment is really only fulfilled if it’s shared with someone else! And if you don’t believe me, you should go check your facebook and/or your twitter account :P.

I’m going to try to share the following categories:

Beauty

Laugh

Inspire

Read

Fashion

Think

Baby

So without further ado, I give you Sleepy Turtle, Happy Turtle’s Favorite Things January 2014:

Favorite Things: Beauty-

I came late to the Birchbox party (www.birchbox.com) but I fell in love with my first box’s samples of Gilchrist and Soames’ shampoo and conditioner. The subtle fresh scent reminds me of the sweet air of Charleston, South Carolina:

 http://www.gilchristsoames.com/hair/london-shampoo-conditioner-duo-2.html

Favorite Things: Laugh-

Sleep deprived mamas will get a chuckle out of this:

 http://www.pinterest.com/pin/464152305316904788/

Favorite Things: Inspire- 

With Valentine’s Day coming up, I’ve been scouring Pinterest for fun treats and crafts for inspiration. These Bacon-Shaped hearts are ideal for my husband:

http://thepapermama.com/2011/02/wordlessish-wednesday-bacon-of-hearts.html

Favorite Things: Read- 

I got a Kindle for Christmas, and despite my mixed feelings about going ‘electronic’, It’s been much easier to read a book that I can hold one-handed (with Turtle in the other, once again), I’ve been reading Pastor Scotty Smith’s Everyday Prayers: 365 Days to a Gospel-Centered Faith for my quiet time and have really been enjoying it:

http://www.amazon.com/Everyday-Prayers-Days-Gospel-Centered-Faith-ebook/dp/B005GMYADU/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1391038382&sr=1-1&keywords=365+days+of+prayer

Favorite Things: Fashion- 

These are my favorite ‘transition’ jeans while I’m working on losing the baby weight. Theyre ‘real’ jeans but are super stretchy and comfortable (and don’t you dare call them ‘jeggings’!)

http://www.nyandcompany.com/nyco/prod/Pants/Denim/Jean-Legging-Harlow-Blue-Wash

Favorite Things: Think-

With the Super Bowl coming up this weekend, here is some food for thought about what the culture we live in, including church culture,is perpetually telling our daughters:

 http://www.cardus.ca/comment/article/3864/prizes-and-consumables-the-super-bowl-as-a-theology-of-women/

Favorite Things: Baby- 

Do you guys know about Mama OT? It’s one of my favorite blogs, and is written by a woman who is both a mama and an Occupational Therapist. Having assisted an OT previously, I have the utmost respect for their knowledge of child development. So far my favorite post has been her recommendations for toys for baby’s first year, that you can read here:

http://mamaot.com/2012/07/09/15-toys-for-babys-first-year/

Leave a Reply

